culture

I realize I’m prob’ly seeing through rose-colored glasses, but the radio announced that a stretch of Main St. on my commute would be closed, probably for weeks. It wasn’t, for another week or so, and now it’s got barricades but they are strategically aligned so it’s *really easy* for a certain bicycle to go through and nobody’s been there for a week or so. The big pipes are laying along the curb. There’s tall fence around where they’ve dug down to wherever those pipes are going, but it’s an easy path, almost as if they said “Miss Sue rides through here! Let’s make sure there’s a path!” (Okay, and the rest of the cyclists 😛 )

It’s strikingly different from “oh, let’s leave our construction vehicles on the sidewalk and we’ve blocked everything else” that happened oh, less than 100 yards west of there in the recent past but was ameliorated when I let Facilities and Services know even though it wasn’t them doing it.

Bus yesterday because of wind advisory and rain in the night forecast that did arrive. *Almost* as windy this morning but 17 is a lot less than 22 (though it says it’s up to 22 now) and we’re spposed to get rain and then things will be calmer and the winds shift to west for my ride home. Still thinking about the Swoop. I think I’d still have been on the bus of yesterday but … if it had been church (2.3 miles and no direct bus) … it might have been niiicer.

Four years ago I was workin’ from home…. riding the lunch laps… interesting times these are.

Leave a comment