Those bronze shadows

Yup, another day when the “bike route across campus” in the “don’t we have a wonderful master plan” is blocked completely for construction, with no notice ’til you’re upon it.   Hey, it’s only when people are coming back to school and all.

I’m sure there will be fun events planned that will need that space blocked off to traffic, too – except bicycles aren’t “traffic” to the Mother U.   They’re an inconvenience.   Well, that many people in cars would be a bigger inconvenience but that would be logical thinking and we can’t expect that from the poor souls at a University.  Privilege is privilege, period.

The trip up Randolph was amazingly quiet, and I thought “Okay, 5 minutes early is the way to go!”  … and then there was Church.   It might calm down as people settle into the academic year but … a car w/ Missouri tags just started rolling forward at me.  SOrry, I cannot tell if you’re just anticipating me or haven’t seen me at all.   Happily, what came from my lips as I stopped the bike was, “Hello!!!!  Please wait!”  (unlike the one Wednesday night which included the a-word, and that one wasn’t even really called for since our group was behaving utterly unpredictably *in* an intersection out in the country, having just yielded to the Eastbound fast bicycle riders who were of course just plowing past the stop sign, before the Westbound driver arrived. Yea. While we were somewhere between stopping and going, he just went.   Technically we had right of way but we were a hot mess.)

A different car squealed on by me — the air horn works — and it was just … trafficky.   Things did time nicely w/ gaps in parking to let the busses by, and once past that things were normal.

Oh, and last night I actually got to see the woman driving SVA BBY 2 as she went East on Washington.   I waved at her and she drove on by, as she stared fiercely ahead, looking threatened and defensive.   Saddening, but at least she didn’t holler out her window at me.  Having seen her, I’m reasonably confident that she would not get out of the car to physically accost me, which is a bit of a relief (but I hope she’s not armed).

Oh!   and the new neighbors next door (rental) have commuter-looking bicycles that were in their living room (when they were between curtains and it was totally exposed).     Next house down a fellow was heading out on his bicycle yesterday.   If I could find my inner extrovert I’d … well, I don’t know, I can’t find my inner extrovert…

 

 

Leave a Reply

