Passing on the right

I realized twice today that… drivers seem reluctant to do it around here. There I am, sitting at Lincoln in the steady rain, and there are four cars in the left lane… but only the front one is turning left. The rest are just … waiting. Not a one pulls ’round.   I saw this two different times, today.

Makes me more convinced that it’s a *really* bad thing to do on a bike (with exceptions).

Yes, it’s rainy today, but 52 degrees. I do believe last year at this time that Snowman Incident had already happened. (47 seconds and they only almost said the S word.) I am reveling in temperatures above freezing, remembering how interminable the deep frigidity was. Yes, tomorrow it’s supposed to drop back down to 29… but that’s the low.

4 responses to “Passing on the right

  1. I grew up in Central IL and have lived in Indianapolis for 16 years. Here passing on the right is the norm. Lots of 2 lane roads even have a lane for it. Because of that, people make that right-hand pass even when no lane is there – into the gravel, grass, etc. And they’ll make the pass multiple cars back, so if you are waiting and not passing, you have to worry that someone is going to come by you on the right.

    Then add being on the bicycle into the mix and it gets plain scary.

    When we come to Central IL to visit, we enjoy the fact that the pace is a bit slower, and people aren’t passing us on the right in the gravel, grass, etc.

    Happy riding! And yes, this time last year we had snow and ice on the ground!

  2. I see drivers pass on the right in Texas. I see others routinely drive on shoulders, especially in rural areas. Local customs do vary.

  3. It’s certainly discouraged here, although I occasionally and very gingerly pass to the right of a car (not a trick or bus) turning left onto a major road when I’m turning left.

  4. Sorry, that last comment should read:

    I occasionally and very gingerly pass to the right of a car (not a truck or bus) turning left onto a major road when I’m turning RIGHT.

    Note to self: Proofread next time.

Leave a Reply

