snow :)

it’s a balmy 22 out there, so I’m going to run an errand or two before it gets warm and dangerous and switches over to the icing.

I, too, am wondering about the Illini Chill.  Time to find that email address and see if Kent’s makign it happen this year.

My Sturmey Archer logo nut doesn’t fit… goes to show we should have looked up everything instead of finding the logo nut in the catalog and assuming that if there was only one, it would be the right size.  Now everything’s looked up and there are so the right size nuts in stock (sans logo, but functional)… so as soon as I feel adventurous enough I’ll wend my way out there for a trade.

NY TImes did an article on Columbia, SC – where I spent a surreal year studying INstrucitonal Technology, getting devoured by fleas, having my car stolen, a pistol shot through the bedroom ceiling, a citation for an ugly plant, a man standing by my bed holding a sock at 2 a.m. who left when I asked after a brief conversation, and a lady who thought I was having an affair with her husband because she’d found my outgoing credit card bill in her mailbox five miles away.  That’s just the stuff I remember… and no, I don’t know why my bill was in her mailbox, much less with his return address on the envelope.  I was leaving town the next day anyway…  Columbia’s not handling the “credit crunch,” etc. too well, it seems – despite not having housing bubbles or other local reaons for an economic tailspin and long lines at the job fair for crappy jobs.

I have my own theory about their vulnerability, though.  HEre’s a snippet:

“Ms. Harris previously ran her own house-painting company, but opted for a more stable career in a growing field. She saw an ad for the degree program on television: “Come become a medical assistant!”

Now, such talk seems farcical. She is paying $95 a month toward $23,000 in student loan debt. She is living with her boyfriend, who is supporting her, not always cheerfully. She has no health insurance …”

$23,000 in loans?

The U. of South Carolina, and/or the local communtiy colleges, should be all over that community with what I am sure are better deals for better education… starting with a workshop on rip-offs from TV ads.

Okay, time to go outside for a little…

Leave a Reply

