jus’ a story or two

From over to teh TE board

“I voted this morning– what a wonderful experience. I live in a predominantly African-American precinct, and before today my longest wait to vote was ~10 minutes. Today, it took 1.5 hours (and the line was as long when I left as when I got there). The coolest thing: whenever an elderly person or disabled person showed up, the line by common acclamation sent them to the front. One of my fellow waiting voters told one extremely elderly lady “you’ve waited long enough for this day– you go on ahead.” And then, when that lady came out, leaning on her cane, there was a little tear rolling down her cheek. What a powerful moment to be a part of….”

And, also from Virginia:

Voted this morning (Virginia). Polls opened at 6 am, and I was there. Waited over an hour (could’a been worse). Had a pregnant lady take a dive in front of me – she skipped breakfast, and then passed out after standing around for about 45 minutes. She was fine, but they did call the ambulance to cart her off. The best part was that they let her vote – polling stations in Virginia have a PC/Notebook deal that they can take curbside to accommodate the handicapped. As the EMTs were wheeling this lady out on a gurney, a poll worker ran up and handed her the computer. They both got an ovation.

(and a third Virginia absurdity was where they split the alphabet A-I and J-Z… danged right the line was long for the latter group.  Enough complaints and they broke the second group in half…)

3 responses to “jus’ a story or two

  1. Reminds me of when the wall came down in Berlin in 1989: a feeling of “This is change, and we the people made it happen…”

  2. A-I/J-Z — I’ll need to split open a phone book down the middle and see where I end up. I suspect it will be pretty close to I or J.

    My last name is M, which is exactly in the middle of the alphabet, so I already know that most people’s “common sense” thinking that M is the middle isn’t necessarily true when it comes to the real distribution of last names.

  3. Good heavens… what kind of geek ARE you 😀 😀
    I is the ninth letter of 26, which means there are nine letters on one side of the line and 17 on the other. Rather far from an even balance – even if you don’t factor in just how many Jenkins and Moselys are in Culpeper County (those jokes about West Virginia had to come from somewhere…)

Leave a Reply

